YOUR ADVENTURE STARTS HERE
WITH 82ND BRISTOL SCOUTS
Scouting began in 1907 when Robert Baden Powell, Lieutenant General in the Bristish Army, held the first scouting encampment at Brownsea Island. However it was 1970 before the 82nd Bristol Scout Group was founded and met at the Saint Bernadette Catholic Church in Whitchurch, Bristol.
In 1982 the local parishioners arranged the lease of an 8000sq. ft plot of land in Kylross Avenue from the Bristol City Council. In June of that year the foundations to the new Scout Headquarters were laid. With the continued dedication of the parishioners in both raising funds and dedicating time and labour the roof of the 2300sq. ft. headquarters was completed by Febuary 1983.
The Headquarters was finally finished and offically opened on 10th September 1983, and the memorial plaque of this achievment is today still on display in the headquarters large 1250sq.ft main hall.
Since its opening and because of the continued dedication and commitment of Leaders, Parents and Friends over the years the "Scout Hut" remains as a testament to the 1980's pioneers and is maintained purely from locally raised subscriptions and donations.
Thanks to The Big Lottery Fund grants in 2010, 2013 and our latest in 2016 we have been able to carry out major refurbishments of our scout HQ, which has included new boundary fences, refurbished kitchen and toilets and better off-road parking facilities. Our latest project replacing the old metal clad roof with a new modern insulated roof will improve the heating efficiency of our HQ which will hopefully reduce our heating costs.